Bayelsa inaugurates Gender Response Initiative Team to curb domestic violence.

Bayelsa State Governor, Douye Diri has inaugurated the state’s Gender Response Initiative Team (GRIT) as part of efforts to curb cases of domestic violence against persons in the state.

The committee is headed by gender advocate and legal practitioner, Madam Dise Ogbise.

While inaugurating the eighteen-member committee, Governor Diri said with the signing of the Violence Against Persons Prohibition Law (VAPP) earlier this year, Bayelsa had become one of the few states that has domesticated the federal law.

The governor charged them to work as a team and collaborate with relevant ministries, departments and agencies, particularly the Ministries of Women Affairs and Justice to ensure the implementation of the law to the letter.

Governor Diri, who noted that the task ahead of the committee was enormous, urged members to tackle the menace holistically as there are also cases of men being victims of abuse.

The governor expressed confidence in the committee’s capacity to nip in the bud issues of violence against persons as its membership includes medical personnel, lawyers, and law enforcement agents amongst other professions.

In a response, the chairman, Madam Dise Ogbise expressed the commitment to discharge their mandate in line with the provisions of the Bayelsa State Violence Against Persons Prohibition Law twenty-twenty-one.

Madam Ogbise who thanked the governor, his wife, Dr. Gloria Diri, members of the State Assembly for the confidence reposed on them, assured that with their support, they would take the campaign to every nook and cranny of the state.

Other members of the committee are Mrs. Maria Olodi-Osumah, Vice Chairman, Mr. Inatimi Odio, Secretary, Dr. Anne Obuebite, Dr. Omietimi James, and Dr. Arubiosou Ebimobowei.

The committee also has as members Mr. Deme Pamoso, Lady Perekebina Berezi, Bogofanyo Perekibina, Mr. Panebi Jacob and Felicia Owei.

Others are Dr. Juliet Teibowei, Mrs. Blessing Komonibo, Mary Accra Bekowei, Yemi Atotu, a Superintendent of Police, Grace Richman, Hajia Miriam Abeki and Rosemary Oweifawari