Governor Diri charges newly elected lawmakers to enact laws beneficial to Bayelsa.

Governor of Bayelsa State, Douye Diri has charged the newly inaugurated Senators and Members of the House of Representatives from Bayelsa State to be united in action to enact laws that will be beneficial to Bayelsa state and Nigeria as a whole.

Governor Diri gave the charge at a reception held in honour of the National Assembly Members of the state at Utako, in Abuja

The governor said it was a thing of joy that all National Assembly Members from the State are PDP members, a clear indication that Bayelsa State remains a strong hold of the party.

Governor Diri used the opportunity to urge Bayelsans to ensure unity at all times despite ethnic or party affiliations and love one another for peace to reign in the state.

Also speaking, the immediate past Deputy Governor of the state Rear Admiral Gboribiogha John-Jonah, retired while congratulating Governor Diri for the landslide victory of the PDP in winning all the seats in the National Assembly urged them to work accordingly to return the governor for a 2nd term.

Rear Admiral John-Jonah also called on them to realise they are minority in the Red and Green Chambers and so should use everything within their power in charting their cause through for Bayelsa to benefit in the new dispensation.

In his response on behalf of the National Assembly Members, Senator Kombowei Benson thanked the government and people of the state for giving them the opportunity to represent them and promised not to betray the trust reposed in them.

In a goodwill message, Technical Adviser to the Governor on Sports, Copule Ayamale, noted that the PDP in Bayelsa has performed well to produce a great team that will push for the agenda of the Ijaw Nation.

He advised the newly elected members to work hard, have a very cordial relationship with each other and the state governor.

Speaking on the 2nd term bid of Governor Diri, the Technical Adviser said he was convinced of the success of the governor at the polls, noting that his track record will speak for him.

The new federal lawmakers are Senator Seriake Dickson, Senator Konbowei Benson, Senator Benson Agadaga, Chief Fred Agbedi, Mrs. Marie Ebikake, Mitema Obodor, Oforji Oboku, and Rodney Ambaiowei.

A minute silence was observed for the departed souls of Bayelsans who lost their lives on their way to Abuja and Asaba.

Dignitaries that attended the reception were Members of the State seventh Assembly and their spouses, former Commissioner for Sports, Chief Ebiktin Diongoli, former Commissioner of Finance, Mr. Solomon Apreala, Chief Abel Ebifemowei and Permanent Secretary Federal Ministry of Water Resources, Dame Didi Walson-Jack amongst others.