Hamadjam Yaya wins 15km Sen. Duoye Diri Marathon

Hamadjan Yaya from Cross River State and Lidiah Akuaho from Plateau State emerged winners in the male and female categories of the third Senator Douye Diri (SDD) fifteen kilometer marathon race.

The race was part of activities commemorating the third anniversary of the Governor Diri’s administration.

Other winners in the male category are Tosin Adedeji from Ogun State, who came second, while Wadata Barau from Bauchi came third.

In the female category, Patience John also from Plateau placed second and Charity Agofure of Delta State came third.

The competitors took off from Akenfa and concluded the race at the Peace Park in Yenagoa.

Governor Douye Diri, in a remark, commended the winners and participants and urged the private sector, particularly corporate organizations in the state, to sponsor sporting activities as part of their corporate social responsibility.

The governor stressed the need to develop the sports sector, describing it as a money-spinning venture as well as a veritable tool to foster peace and unity among the people.

He, therefore, charged his deputy, Senator Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo and Commissioner for Youth and Sports, Dr Daniel Igali, to scout for sponsors, particularly for the SDD Marathon to enable the state produce top athletes that would compete in long distance races.

Governor Diri also directed that the SDD Marathon be included in the calendar of the Ministry of Youths and Sports as well as given greater publicity to attract more athletes.

Also, Commissioner for Youth and Sports Development, Dr Daniel Igali, said the SDD Marathon is to encourage young Bayelsa athletes to compete in long distance races both at the national and continental levels.

Congratulating winners and all participants, Dr Igali appreciated the governor for his unflinching support to the sports ministry.

The winners in both categories got four hundred thousand naira each, while second placed winners got two hundred thousand naira each and third placed one hundred and fifty thousand naira each.