Oyo prison break: 13 inmates rearrested

Police in Osun state has captured 13 inmates of Abolongo prison escapees in a village located in Ejigbo local government area of the state.

Inmates escaped from the prison in Oyo town, Oyo state after gunmen invaded the facility killing security personnel and releasing all inmates in custody.

The state Police Public Relations Officer, Yemisi Opalola while confirming the re-arrest of the inmates, disclosed that the inmates were arrested on Saturday in different villages in the local government that shared boundary with Oyo state.

According to her, the captured inmates include; Adekanbi Kola, Semiu Sali, Garuba Nurudeen, Ismaila Garuba, Nasifi Garuba, and Qadri Yusuf.  Others are Ezekiel Owolabi, Bamidele Kehinde, Daodu Emmanuel, Dele Babatunde, Adeyemo Ifalowo, Ridwan Akinsola and Sola Owolabi.

She further disclosed that “all the prisoners would soon be transferred to the State Criminal Investigation Department for proper handing over to the department of corrections”.


Source: Vanguard News