Winners Of The Online Essay Contest Awarded By Bayelsa State New Media

Winners of the sixth edition of the Online Essay contest organised by the Office of the Director, New Media to Bayelsa State Governor have been presented with their prizes.

At the prize presentation, Commissioner for Education, Dr. Gentle Emelah, charged youths to embrace activities such as the essay competition to help them harness their potential.

Dr. Emelah, who commended the Director, New Media, Dr. Kola Oredipe for the initiative, noted that the winners out of the total entries in a-twenty-hours intellectual competition had shown that Bayelsa State is blessed with talents.

In an address, the initiator of the quarterly online essay contest, Dr. Kola Oredipe, said the competition was geared towards connecting the young Bayelsa undergraduates to the prosperity administration to enable them contribute their quota to the development of the State.

He appreciated Governor Diri, for supporting the programme and charged the winners to continue to be good ambassadors of the State.

One of the judges in the competition, Dr. Sophia Obi, said one hundred and twenty-one entries were received while only fifty-three entries adhered to the rules for the contest.

The overall winner received a cash prize of two hundred thousand; second positions received one hundred thousand, third place got the sum of fifty thousand, while the fourth and fifth received consolation prizes.

The essay with the topic ‘’Bayelsa International Airport: Creating a new economic realityfrom Bayelsa undergraduates from different tertiary institutions across the country with Mr. Ikumoinein Michael Woyengikule, a five hundred-Level Medical student of Niger Delta University, Amassoma emerging as champion.

Other winners are Chiefson Ebikabo-Owei and Ipigansi Susan Odidia (2nd and 3rd positions) both of African University, Toru-Orua, Bekeowei Oko Florence (4th) of NDU and George Isivie Esther (5th position) of Rivers State University, Port Harcourt.

Responding on behalf of others, the champion, Mr. Ikumoinein Michael Woyengikule appreciated Governor Douye Diri for the challenging initiative and reward of cash prizes as well as Dr. Kola Oredipe for ensuring efficiency and transparency in the contest.